Orphan conversations are text communications with a contact or phone number that is no longer a contact in MyRepChat. Usually it means the contact number was deleted because it's a wrong number or SPAM. Possibly the phone number should be added to complete a contact record (for example, a text message was sent to the home landline number rather than the mobile number). You can view associated numbers from the Dashboard in MyRepChat by clicking on 'Orphan Conversations'.
Click on the orphan conversations circle to review the associated phone numbers and determine if they should be associated to a contact, or if the number was a SPAM message that was deleted instead of 'Blocked'.
To resolve orphan conversations, there are three options:
1. Complete contact details. If you need to change a phone number for a particular contact, keep the old number listed as 'other' and toggle off the 'use for messaging' setting in contact details. Be sure to click 'Save' at the bottom of the contact details page.
2. Wait 120 days until the conversation is aged out and no longer stored in MyRepChat if this was a message to a contact or phone number that you do not need to keep in MyRepChat.
3. Set the ‘Blocked’ toggle if you do not want to see the contact and related messages in your message history. The contact can be created without first and last name, just the number in the first name field.
4. Message History Setting: If the number associated to the orphan conversation is not in the message history, you may need to adjust message history settings to view the conversation.